january memories / 22


22nd January, 1972 : The Six became Ten today with the signing of the Treaty of Brussels which will bring Britain, Ireland, Denmark and Norway into the European Community from January 1 next year. The new community will have a population bigger than the United States, a gross national product of nearly 400 billion a year, and 41% of world trade. The signing, at Egmont Palace in Brussels, is a personal triumph for the British Prime Minister, Edward Heath, who has been active all through Britain’s ten-year struggle for membership.

About Avadoro Worden

This entry was posted in Bureaucracy, Finance and Economics, History and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>