26th February, 1951 : American Presidents are to be limited to a maximum term of eight years in office, following the passage of the 22nd Amendment, which has been ratified by 36 of the US States, the required number for the amendment to the Constitution. Opponents argued the limit would turn a re-elected President into an unaccountable lame duck during his final four years of office, but Congress decided the change would help to curb Presidential power.

Franklin Delano Roosevelt is the only past President who would have been restricted by the 22nd Amendment. He was elected four times and died after serving 12 years in the White House.

About Avadoro Worden

This entry was posted in America, Election, History and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to

  1. Sick Tex says:

    That’s it! Make Hussein Obama president for life and America will be socialist paradise.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>