12th December, 1910 : Germany has walked away with three of the five prizes presented this year by the Nobel Committee in Stockholm. Paul Heyse wins the Nobel Prize for Literature, while the Chemistry Prize goes to to Otto Wallach. Their compatriot Albrecht Kossel carries off the Prize for Medicine for his work on albumins. A Dutchman, Johannes Diderik van der Waals, is this year’s Physics laureate for his work on fluids and gases. The Peace Prize was awarded to the International Peace Bureau in Berne, Switzerland.

[ Almost forgotten – paul-heyse

Paul Johann Ludwig von Heyse (15 March 1830 – 2 April 1914) ]

About Avadoro Worden

This entry was posted in Culture, History, Science and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>