25th February, 1951 : American Presidents are to be limited to a maximum term of eight years in office, following the passage of the 22nd Amendment, which has been ratified by 36 of the US States, the required number for an amendment to the Constitution. Opponents argued the limit would turn a re-elected President into an unaccountable lame duck during his final four years of office, but Congress decided the change would help curb Presidential power.

Franklin Delano Roosevelt is the only past President who would have been restricted by the 22nd Amendment. He was elected four times and died after serving 12 years in the White House.

[ Unaccountable yes, lame no; when there is ill will, there is always an Executive Order. ]

About Avadoro Worden

This entry was posted in America, Election, History, Politics and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>